

Meeting of the Board of Directors, Meeting 398 July 8, 2023 at 11:00 am Kellogg West Hotel & Conference Center, Valley Vista Room

Join Zoom Meeting

https://cpp.zoom.us/j/87538847974?from=addon

Meeting ID: 875 3884 7974

AGENDA

Chair: Ysabel Trinidad, Board Vice Chair

Directors: Dr. Rita Kumar, Ruby Suchecki, Dr. Maryann Tolano-Levegue, John McGuthry, Lowell Overton, Kris Zoleta, Dr.

Phyllis Nelson, April Jimenez, Dr. Homeyra Sadaghiani, Erica Frausto Aguado, Mayra Brown, Christina Gonzales,

Cynthia Nelson, Stephanie Pastor, Oliver Santos, Dr. David Speak, Ilke Suzer

Staff: Shari Benson, Claudia Burciaga-Ramos, Lisa Coats, Jared Ceja, Joanne Mathew, Thomas Sekayan

Absent: Dr. Soraya Coley, Dr. Jennifer Brown, Dr. Martin Sancho-Madriz, Frances Teves

I. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

Ysabel Trinidad, Vice Chair

who may or may not be commenting on a specific item or making a general comment.

II. CHAIR'S REPORT

Ysabel Trinidad

III. ED/CEO 's REPORT No Report

IV. ACTION ITEMS

A. Election of New 2023-2024 Student Directors

(Attachment) A

Jared Ceja

B. 2023-2024 Committee Assignments Jared Ceja (Attachment) A

V. INFORMATION & DISCUSSION ITEMS

The following items provide information and reports by management staff to the Board. Staff and Board may engage in discussion on any item if requested by committee member or staff member.

C. 2023-2024 Committee Chairs, Officer Roles, & Nominating Committee Jared Ceja (Attachment) I

VI. OPEN FORUM

VII. ADJOURNMENT Ysabel Trinidad

Next Board Meeting #399 – September 26, 2023 at 2:00 p.m. at Kellogg West & via Zoom

Memorandum

Date: July 8, 2023

To: Board of Directors

From: Jared G. Ceja, CEO

Subject: Election of New Student Director to the 23/24 Board

Serving as a member of the Cal Poly Pomona Foundation Board of Directors is a challenging and rewarding position of serious responsibility. Board member decisions affect the lives of students, faculty, staff, and the surrounding CPP community now and into the future.

Per Article V of the Bylaws, the maximum authorized number of voting Directors of the Board shall be twenty-four (24). This includes nine (9) Designated Directors appointed by virtue of the position they hold at the University as follows:

 University President, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Vice President for Student Affairs, Vice President for Advancement, Vice President for Administrative Affairs, Vice President for Instructional & Information Technology, Chair of the Academic Senate, Chair of Staff Council and President of the Associated Students, Inc.

There are an additional fifteen (15) elected Directors with terms and nominations as follows:

- a) one (1) Dean Director three (3) year term (nominated by the Deans Action Council);
- b) two (2) Faculty Directors three (3) year term (nominated by the Academic Senate);
- c) five (5) At Large Directors two (2) year term (nominated by the University President);
- d) three (3) Community Directors three (3) year term (nominated by the University President);
- e) two (2) Staff Directors three (3) year term (nominated by the Staff Council); and
- f) two (2) Student Directors two (2) year term (nominated by the Associated Students Senate).

We have one (1) Student Director nominee from ASI to fill the Student Director role vacated by Emily Han who graduated this past semester. The remaining term is one (1) year covering the 2023-2024 fiscal year.

Student Director - Naman Pandadiya nominated by ASI

ASI's nomination of Naman Pandadiya requires a vote of the Board for approval.

BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Directors accepts the nominations of Naman Pandadiya (nominated by ASI), as presented, and welcomes him to the 2023-2024 Board of Directors effective immediately.

PASS	SED AND ADOPTED THIS 8th DAY OF July 2023.
Ву:	
•	John McGuthry
	Secretary/Treasurer, Board of Directors



Memorandum

Date: July 8, 2023

To: Board of Directors

From: Jared G. Ceja, CEO

Subject: 2023-2024 Committee Assignments

Board Directors work with Management each year to understand the needs of all active committees and what can be expected for the upcoming fiscal year. Committees are most effective when the talents and interests of Board directors align with the responsibility of their selected committee(s). All Board members are expected to serve on at least one committee, but may choose to sit on two or more.

Each open standing committee has an executive management liaison:
Audit – Joanne Mathew, CFO
Finance & Investment – Joanne Mathew, CFO
Personnel – Shari Benson, CHRO
Program – Thomas Sekayan, COO

Time has been allocated for committee consideration prior to and during the Summer Board Retreat. A list of committee assignments will be presented on screen for consideration by the Board.

BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Directors accepts the nominations for committee membership, as presented, for the 2023-2024 Audit, Finance & Investment, Personnel, and Program committees, effective immediately.

Ву:		
•	John McGuthry Secretary/Treasurer, Board of Directors	

PASSED AND ADOPTED THIS 8th DAY OF July 2023.





Committee Chairs, Officers, & Committee Appointments 2023-2024

Board Officers:

Chair – Dr. Soraya Coley Vice Chair – Ysabel Trinidad Secretary/Treasurer – John McGuthry

Executive Committee designated by position (except where noted):

Board Chair – Dr. Soraya Coley Vice Chair – Ysabel Trinidad Academic Senate Chair – Dr. Rita Kumar ASI President – Ilke Suzer Community Representative – Ruby Suchecki (appointed by the University President) Staff Council Chair – Stephanie Pastor

Committee Chairs (appointed by the Board Chair):

Audit Committee – Dr. David Speak Finance & Investment Committee – Ysabel Trinidad Personnel Committee – Dr. Phyllis Nelson Program Committee – Christina Gonzales

Nominating Committee (appointed by the Board Chair):

Dr. Jennifer L. Brown (Chair), Stephanie Pastor, Dr. Homeyra Sadaghiani

Corporate Officers:

Chief Executive Officer – Jared Ceja Chief Financial Officer – Joanne Mathew Chief Operating Officer – Thomas Sekayan Chief Human Resources Officer – Shari Benson Chief Brokerage Officer – Randy Wallace Jr.